5-14-10

I’ve asked Lisa to communicate the following thoughts for me because I am feeling a little under the weather.

Status: 7.0/10  Not a very good day.

Events:  My heart rate for the last 48 hours has been very low, in the 40’s.  They concluded it was one of my medications, one of my anti-nausea drugs.  They discontinued it and my heart rate went back up in the normal range.  The problem is, without the drug I had profound nausea and all that entails.  It was a fairly uncomfortable day.  I have now started on a new anti-nausea drug and hope that works. 

Comments:   Until I feel a little chipper, I won’t be making any extensive comments.

Hope and pray for a better day tomorrow.

Love,

-Bruce

23 Responses to “”

  1. wendy Says:

    Prayers and more prayers…for a fabulous day…

  2. Jill Stewart Says:

    Bruce: I’m so sad that today was tough. I have this picture of you weathering all these assaults with humor, wisdom and strength. And then you make the incredible effort to inform and inspire all of us.

    Tomorrow will be better and we’re all pulling for you every step of the way. Love, Jill

  3. MOM & DAD Says:

    Loving you and know that nausea etc, is the most miserable feeling in the world. Should that new anti- nausea med work you should have a better night and tomorrow, if they will let you have a day off of procedures, procedures. Thanking Lisa for letting my anxiety ease off, when I spoke with her.Love, Hopie

  4. Catherine O'Brien Says:

    Bruce, It is so sad to have you feel so badly. I hope the worst is behind you and all this discomfort comes in the service of healing and wholeness.
    Love, Catherine

  5. Judy and Larry Says:

    Bruce
    We are so sorry that you are not feeling well. We hope and pray that each day will get better and easier for you. We hope that Terry arrived safely and that you will get to enjoy his visit.
    Love, Judy and Larry

  6. cheryl Says:

    Wishing you well, as always.

  7. Betsy Ruppa Says:

    Hi Bruce. I’m one of those distant cousins, one of whom you have never met. I keep in touch with your mom (she and my dad, Rex Ruppa, were first cousins) and via your mom, I have been following your blog. My husband and I are a wee bit familiar with a great deal of the challenges you are facing at the moment, one of which is nausea. Have you tried Ativan? (just .5mg to start) Joe (my husband) had been suffering from the same and nothing seemed to help until we got to the Aitivan. His nausea is not chemo related as we are past chemo at this point…but it’s still there, nonetheless. Zofran, compazine, reglan,emend, medical marijuana… for months now, we have been working on this, and at last, the ativan seems to be doing the trick. Just a thought…. if you haven’t tried it yet. If there is one thing that makes life terribly unpleasant and difficult to navigate, it’s nausea and vomiting. Peppermint tea stays down too, He no longer eats anything by mouth so he lives on TPN… been struggling with this stuff for at least 9 months and just now, we think we might have found our silver bullet. never know if one thing works like a charm for one patient… might not work at all for another.
    By the way, I have been the cancer patient and the caretaker, and honestly I feel that the caretaker has a tougher job during all this. Please be sure that Lisa takes good care of herself and accepts a lot of help when she needs it. Caretakers tend to be over looked at times, especially by themselves!
    Days can be very different, from one to the other, so here’s hoping that the pattern holds and tomorrow will infinitely better than today. Plow on through…keep on plowing…

  8. Betsy Ruppa Says:

    Hi Bruce. I’m one of those distant cousins, one of whom you have never met. I keep in touch with your mom (she and my dad, Rex Ruppa, were first cousins) and via your mom, I have been following your blog. My husband and I are a wee bit familiar with a great deal of the challenges you are facing at the moment, one of which is nausea. Have you tried Ativan? (just .5mg to start) Joe (my husband) had been suffering from the same and nothing seemed to help until we got to the Ativan. His nausea is not chemo related as we are past chemo at this point…but it’s still there, nonetheless. Zofran, compazine, reglan,emend, medical marijuana… for months now, we have been working on this, and at last, the ativan seems to be doing the trick. Just a thought…. if you haven’t tried it yet. If there is one thing that makes life terribly unpleasant and difficult to navigate, it’s nausea and vomiting. Peppermint tea stays down too, He no longer eats anything by mouth so he lives on TPN… been struggling with this stuff for at least 9 months and just now, we think we might have found our silver bullet. never know if one thing works like a charm for one patient… might not work at all for another.
    By the way, I have been the cancer patient and the caretaker, and honestly I feel that the caretaker has a tougher job during all this. Please be sure that Lisa takes good care of herself and accepts a lot of help when she needs it. Caretakers tend to be over looked at times, especially by themselves!
    Days can be very different, from one to the other, so here’s hoping that the pattern holds and tomorrow will infinitely better than today. Plow on through…keep on plowing…

    • Jane Rian Says:

      Betsy, I don’t know if this will find its way to you. I have been thinking about you a lot for the last few months and have tried to find you through Facebook to no avail. I finally found this site. I am so sorry to hear about your husband and will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Life is a difficult journey and you have had a hard road to travel. I often think about you always with such heartfelt memories. I found a letter you wrote to me after Ron died many years ago just recently as I was packing to move. I hope this note finds you and you have the time and energy to email me back. Take care Betsy and may your heart be filled with much healing and peace. Jane

  9. Betsy Ruppa Says:

    Hi Bruce. I’m one of those distant cousins, one of whom you have never met. I keep in touch with your mom (she and my dad, Rex Ruppa, were first cousins) and via your mom, I have been following your blog. My husband and I are a wee bit familiar with a great deal of the challenges you are facing at the moment, one of which is nausea. Have you tried Ativan? (just .5mg to start) Joe (my husband) had been suffering from the same and nothing seemed to help until we got to the Ativan. His nausea is not chemo related as we are past chemo at this point…but it’s still there, nonetheless. Zofran, compazine, reglan,emend, medical marijuana… for months now, we have been working on this, and at last, the ativan seems to be doing the trick. Just a thought…. if you haven’t tried it yet. If there is one thing that makes life terribly unpleasant and difficult to navigate, it’s nausea and vomiting. Peppermint tea stays down too, He no longer eats anything by mouth so he lives on TPN… been struggling with this stuff for at least 9 months and just now, we think we might have found our silver bullet. never know if one thing works like a charm for one patient… might not work at all for another.
    By the way, I have been the cancer patient and the caretaker, and honestly I feel that the caretaker has a tougher job during all this. Please be sure that Lisa takes good care of herself and accepts a lot of help when she needs it. Caretakers tend to be over looked at times, especially by themselves!
    Days can be very different, from one to the other, so here’s hoping that the pattern holds and tomorrow will be infinitely better than today. Plow on through…keep on plowing…

  10. bob price Says:

    Bruce, my thoughts & prayers are with you & Lisa; the strength of each of you infuses the other……….and give us all strength as we witness through this incredible blog your daily struggle. You are in our prayers……..bob

  11. Susan and Larry Says:

    Bruce Hope today which is tommorow will be better.Sounds like you need a restful and peaceful weekend. Lisa, keep up the good work. Know Bruce looks forward to your visits and help.I know there willl be light at the end of the tunnel. Our thoughts and prayers as usual. Love Larry

  12. Judie Davidson Says:

    Bruce, I hope you are feeling better by now. Please know my thoughts are with you, Lisa, and the children.

  13. Jessica Says:

    Uncle Bruce, I just wanted to let you know how much I am thinking of you and Lisa and the kids. I don’t see you often these days, but I always know you’re a phone call away when I have any worry or question. I’m not sure if I’ve ever truly thanked you for all your advice and knowledge and care you have shown me, so thank you. You have helped me and put my mind at ease so many times. I hope you feel better today, and we send big hugs to you all. Love, Jessa

  14. Susan Bies Says:

    Dear Bruce, You would be so proud of Rachel, she knocked it out of the park last night. To say she shone like a bright start just wouldn’t capture it. I’m squeezing my hands in prayer that a good day is just around the corner.
    love, susan

  15. Warren Says:

    Bruce is trudging through the dessert looking for a way back to civilization. He sees an object in the sand up ahead and when he arrives at the scene, there lies a fellow with a spear thrust through his body pinning him to the sand. The blood has congealed around the entry wound. His face is blistered from the sun. His lips are parched and his eyes are red surrounded by dark rings, but he is alive. Bruce gives him a cursory examination and asks: “Are you in much pain?” Moving his head carefully to face Bruce, he replies: “Only when I laugh.”

  16. joel steinberg Says:

    The nausea can be awful. Margaret is taking Emend, Zofran, Decadron and Compazine on a set schedule with good control and no ill effects. We hope you get over this bump quickly. To quote my favorite Brit: “Never, never, never, never, never give up.” Joel and Margaret S.

  17. Donna Hill Howes Says:

    I vote for pot!! We have used that with the NCI for over 25 years now, and it is a most effective agent for nausea…. Hope that puts a smile on your face coming from me!! I’ve never tried the stuff (not sure how that happened as I was in undergrad from 70-74 and it was fairly standard stuff on every college campus….and now living in CA, well, I guess I’m just the conservative nerdy type….but it really does work. So many of my friends who are cancer survivors swear by it….
    Now don’t go doing anything to get you kicked out, but they should certainly work with you to find the proper agent to both not interfere with you heart and give you necessary relief from the nausea….
    Like so many others on this day, I send you love and I pray for your relief…and soon! XOXO Donna

  18. MOM Says:

    It seems everyone has a solution for your nausea evidently you have many choices, including pot. You may have tried it many years ago, I heard long ago by the grapevine? Well?

  19. Carolyn Hyde Says:

    Hoping and praying that this is the worst of it, and that soon you’ll be on the road to feeling much, much better. Patrick, Madeleine and I are thinking of you all the time, and including you in our prayers every day.

  20. Bill Israel Says:

    Bruce – Sorry you’ve had a bum day, and we wish you better.

    Eileen and I just returned from Phoenix, where we got new range and microwave installed, and yours truly (with help from an able E.) changed out ballasts in two of three fixtures — very satisfying, especially in using my dad’s own tools.

    So we’ve concluded that once you finish this battle, we hope you and Lisa can ship out to our place, and enjoyt it.

    Thinking of you!

    Bill

  21. Ray Dan Says:

    Bruce and Lisa;

    We follow your blog everyday. You two are great writers, especially considering the circumstances.

    We deplore your illness and the way you feel, but we enjoy that you are able to conjure up literature.

    Barbie and I think of you everyday, and we hope this week is the start of much progress.

    Love,

    Ray and Barbie

  22. Pearl1957 Says:

    Dear Bruce: I am so sorry your having such a rough go with the nausea. There is a drug called Marphan, made from Mariujani. Maybe you could try that. I am praying for you and your family. Cancer is nasty, I hated my bout with it but managed to get through it. Glad you can at least question the nurses so your not given the wrong meds.
    Once again prayers and good thoughts going to you and your family.
    Gentle hugs to all, Pearl Neidlinger

Leave a Reply

