5-15-10

Once again, Lisa is helping me communicate the events of the day.

Status: 7.0/10  Recovering from yesterday.

Events:  Not much energy today as I worked to recover from yesterday.  I had a nice long nap this afternoon, and the good news is that the new anti-nausea drug they’re using seems to be working.  Even so, I still have no appetite.  Lisa brought me fresh squeezed orange juice, and I had a hankering for an orange soda from a McDonald’s soda machine – so she stopped on her way up and filled two large drink containers.  I’ve also learned that Carnation Instant Breakfast (rich chocolate power mix) is a good way to try to get in some calories.  Gee I’ve just done two product placements; maybe I should start lining up sponsors for the blog.  My brother Terry Dan is here from Memphis to visit and when I feel a little better he wants to try to beat me at chess.  I wouldn’t bet against me!

Comments:  And speaking of betting, Rachel did two Guys and Dolls performances today and by all accounts was fabulous.  She played General Matilda B. Cartwright, the hard-charging leader of the Salvation Army trying to reform all those gamblers.  Lisa, Terry and Ethan saw the performance Saturday night and gave Rachel and the rest of the 7th and 8th grade cast rave reviews.  My good friends at Norwood are rushing me a DVD copy so I can see for myself.  Thanks so much for that.  Ethan, meantime, got a morning baseball training session from Terry (a former Mets draft choice) before tryouts this afternoon for a local baseball league.  Reports are Ethan did great and we’ll see if he makes a team. 

Hoping today’s R & R makes for a better day tomorrow. 

Thanks again to everyone for all you best wishes and support. Lisa decorated my room today with some of the many cards everyone has sent – they are wonderful to look at.

Love

-Bruce

7 Responses to “”

  1. MOM Says:

    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition! We raise thanks for a better day. Went to sleep and got up to read your blog. Now I can sleep the rest of the nite. Now, I hope you have a good rest.
    Have noted Rachel’s great success. Love you!

  2. Warren Says:

    I find that the chocolate mocha Boost is delicious and full of energy. Drink it cold. Have a good Sunday.

  3. Henry Miller Says:

    Bruce,

    There are some excellent, palatable products that can help you to get in extra calories. When I was a frazzled intern, I used to have stashes of Sustacal and Ensure at every nurses’ station. Now they make high-calorie varieties of the liquids and they’re available in several flavors. See, for example, http://ensure.com/products/ensure-plus, to which you could even add some Benecal (http://www.nestlenutritionstore.com/general-itemdetail.asp?T1=BENECAL+24CU). Instant Breakfast is delicious, to be sure, but it’s not all that high in calories (but if you prefer it, you could add Benecal to it).

    A few points to note about these products:

    — they do not contain any flaky, New Age ingredients (like herbals) that could have adverse interactions with your “real” meds.

    — they are best taken AFTER meals as a kind of dessert, so they don’t spoil what appetite you have for regular food.

    — they should be on the hospital formulary, so your docs can write orders for them.

    — to make them even tastier and even higher calorie, you could add ice cream to them.

    Bon appetit! Hope you feel better soon!

    Henry

  4. Judi Golding-Baker Says:

    Big congrats to Rachel and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for Ethan…

    Hoping your Sunday is filled with healing rest…

    Love you Bruce

  5. Margot Says:

    Rachel did a fantasic job – and I bet you could almost hear her shouting “Halleluia” from Baltimore! Her character was strong, with great stage presence and she go the laughs in just the right places!

    We are routing for Ethan today and always for you!! Feel better. Love, Margot and David

  6. Donna Hill Howes Says:

    Yippeee! Thankful to hear you are inching toward a better place, and delight in the descriptions of both Rachel and Ethan shining so…. Makes us all proud. And, GOD BLESS LISA!! You are the oxygen in the room, Lisa. Love to all, Donna

  7. joel steinberg Says:

    It sounds as if you are doing better today. Yay! Our son, John, played Nicely Nicely in his high school production of Guys and Dolls. That play and Pajama Game seem to be universally produced in High schools and Middle schools–especially if they have limited enrollments and/or facilities. Take heart, Bruce. Joel and Margaret S.

Leave a Reply

