7-11-10  Sunday

So nice to receive your comments.

Status:  8.5-9.0/10.  I noticed the onset of a headache last night after the first chemotherapy infusion, and it continued throughout the night.  So, it was my first poor night’s sleep in awhile.  By this afternoon, the discomfort abated with the help of a little Tylenol and codeine.  Already I can tell the chemotherapy has an effect on my appetite; I’m eating now while food still tastes good.

Events:  Went downstairs for an ultrasound in a wheelchair – the transport went well (it’s demonstrably quieter on weekends), but after a half hour waiting to be brought back up, Lisa took the bull by the horns (actually just the wheelchair) and rolled me back to the room.

  I also started on the usual prophylactic meds – norfloxacin to reduce GI bacteria and valcyclovir to prevent an outbreak of shingles.  As you probably know, if you have a case of chickenpox, the virus lies dormant in your nerve cells the rest of your life, and as you get older or become immune-suppressed the virus can erupt along your nerve endings extremely painfully.  I am of the age in which as a child I had the real measles, mumps, rubella, and chickenpox, and vivid memories of my mother dabbing calamine lotion on each chickenpox lesion.

 Good friend Sheryl Stolberg brought Rachel up to spend the afternoon.  After lunch in the hospital cafeteria, Rachel whipped her mom at Scrabble.

  Comments:  I’ve had the same day and night nurse these last two day – continuity of care makes things so much easier as well as being an important part of good patient outcomes.  I’ve now had ¼ of the chemotherapy infusions, and look forward to zipping through the rest.

 Hope you had a good weekend.

 Love,

 -Bruce

7 Responses to “”

  1. frank Says:

    I just read a few more entries, and am again finding strength from your strength. (Sort of a pay it forward concept, though I suppose if given the choice you’d have picked a different means of imparting strength). Just a note from afar to tell you all that I’m thinking about, and rooting for, you all. Much love, frank

  2. Art Ulene Says:

    Bruce….. You are a rock! I don’t know where you stand on the marrow match, but if you need more candidates (and if you wouldn’t mind some 74-year-old stem cells), just say the word and I’ll head down for testing. I can’t vouch for the white cells, but my RBC’s got us through a rigorous trek last October on the Everest Base Camp Trail (went to 13,000 without difficulty)…. and I’m happy to share them all with you. Just say the word. We send our love…. Art

  3. Jill Stewart Says:

    Healthy vibes coming your way from Oak Park. You are never far from my mind as you make this journey. Love, Jill

  4. Ken Zwick Says:

    So sorry the match didn’t work out, Bruce. About 12 years ago I registered as a marrow donor and gave a blood sample, so perhaps I’ll be the one in 14 million who is your best match. If so, it would be my honor to contribute. Hope I’m still in the data base. Anyone out there know how that works? Ken

  5. wendy Says:

    hoping the count down or count up calendar is up and running…it’s good to know Lisa just took the bull by the horn… I have been in hospitals where they said I coudn’t go by myself…”legally”..
    guess there’s a good part of medical treatment that isn’t about medical treatment…your cure is jut around the corner!! love wendy

  6. Susan Says:

    Bruce and Lisa- Reading the blog and wishing you all the best. Just keep taking those deep breaths!!! Much love Susan

  7. joel steinberg Says:

    We are pulling for you. Yes, shingles can be very painful. I had a case on my face (V1) in my 40’s, and then another outbreak on my back and arm (T1) a few years ago. It is extremely uncommon to get them twice; but I did. I would advise anyone over 50 to get the shingles vaccine, regardless of whatever guidelines your MD or HMO happens to be following. And even if you have already had them once! Joel S.

Leave a Reply

