7-12-10 Monday

 Status:  9.0/10.  No headaches today and feeling generally good despite getting the 5th of the scheduled 12 doses of chemotherapy.  Lisa and I had a good walk through the hospital, and I’m using ankle weights to keep my quads in shape since you spend so much time in the bed or in a chair. 

  To keep my spirits in shape,  my old fraternity brother Andy Lemer,  who now lives in Baltimore, came by for visit.  We recalled our youthful enthusiasm as ZBT brothers. 

Events:  When I was discharged from the hospital at the end of May the doctors had noted via CT scan two small spots on my liver.  An ultrasound confirmed their presence, but they were too small and non-descript to define.  In subsequent ultrasounds, they noted a few more.  Suspecting they were fungal lesions acquired when my white cell count was zero, we started an antifungal drug two weeks ago.  An ultrasound yesterday showed they had not decreased in size as you would expect.  So they checked the antifungal drug level, added another IV antifungal, and I’m scheduled for a liver biopsy to tomorrow to see what’s going on (no rest for the weary).

Comments:  Despite all this, I’m feeling reasonably well, and life is a process of overcoming obstacles.  So, we move forward and still plan to be out of the hospital this week.

 Thanks for your continued support.

 Love,

 -Bruce

8 Responses to “”

  1. Freddy Says:

    you are my very favorite energizer bunny! Keep on keeping on,sweetie, and you will get there, I promise. So very sorry that you have to go thru all this hogwash ( for want of another name) Know that I love you and wish you so much better than this.

  2. Freddy Says:

    P.S. Am leaving for Denver for 2 weeks with Skip and crew. Will write you from there (presuming my lungs hold up in that stratosphere)

  3. Judie Davidson Says:

    Hi Bruce, This is the last of 20 days cycling across Montana. Thep land and sky go on forever. Please know that you, Lisa and the children are in my thoughts. Hope the tailwind gods get you out of the hospital ASAP.

  4. wendy Says:

    checking you head to toe to head to toe… that’s good medical care… glad they are thorough…just a few more days… go B

  5. wendy Says:

    I vote for cheerios, the breakfast of champions… and you are sure a champion…

  6. Wendi Says:

    Sending love and healing energy your way. When my nephew was sick, he said he couldn’t sleep ’cause he felt so many people praying for him. I hope we aren’t keeping you up! 🙂

  7. joel steinberg Says:

    We hope your platelets are OK for the Bx and that it comes out OK. This is so difficult. Joel and Margaret S.

  8. Carly Says:

    Uncle Bruce,

    I didn’t know you were ZBT! some of the coolest kids I’ve met at school at ZBT’s!

    Of course, all the AEPi’s are nerds, like my dad! :]

Leave a Reply

