7-18-2010 Sunday

Status:  7.0/10.   

Events:  Planning to go home today, but I was awakened at 3AM vomiting blood.  My platelets had been allowed to drop very low which makes bleeding from what might otherwise be innocuous conditions more dramatic.  They quickly contacted the physician on call and started platelets and blood.  Spent the next 12 hours getting continuous rounds of platelets and packed blood cells.  They called in the GI Team for a consult, trying to decide if I needed an immediate endoscopy,  which is problematic with very low white cells,  or if they could stabilize me and put off scoping me for a week or so until my counts return to normal.  Spent the day in bed with nothing by mouth.  They will probably observe me for another couple of days before I get a chance to go home. 

Comments:  This is an example of treatment-related illness,  what’s called iatrogenic (from the Greek iatros meaning “physician”).   In fact,  most of my issues over the last three months have not been from my initial disease itself,   but the treatment it has generated.  Lots of good reasons not to go to a hospital.  And hopefully I will be out of this one soon.

Love,

-Bruce

11 Responses to “”

  1. Art Ulene Says:

    I have only three things to say:
    1. S#*t!
    2. I wish could take some of it for your.
    3. I wish you are home soon.
    With Much Love,
    Art

  2. wendy Says:

    I have only three things to say:
    1) SHIT…
    2) imagery-visualization- thy heal thyeself..
    3) psychosocial support to help LIFT you up

    Home is where the heart is and you have a lot of heart coming your way wherever you are… love wendy

  3. Judie Davidson Says:

    Where were the platelet police? I am so sorry for this to occur. Just like you, I look forward to being home in a few days.

  4. frank Says:

    Your post choked me up (no pun intended). You’re vomiting blood and still finding time to hit pause and explain a tidbit. Most people would have thought, “holy sh*t, I’m vomiting blood!” and then promptly passed out.
    I love you man. Keep up the fight. There’s a lot of good wine to drink when this is done. -f

  5. Joe Robertson Says:

    Aw man, Bruce, this wasn’t what any of us wanted to see today – you least of all, I am sure. It’s disappointing, but keep you chin up anyway, you are going to be home soon. This is just a speedbump on the road to recovery!

    GO BRUCE!!

    All our love,

    Joe, Catherine, Claire and Antoine

  6. Charlie Dan Says:

    I can’t imagine how terrifying that would be.

    I can only hope that 1) you’ve got one of the best teams of physicians in the world focused on you, and 2) your knowledge as a physician, provide some comfort on the ‘bad’ days.

    I want to see that 9.0/10 again!

  7. Laurie Samuels Says:

    Love and hugs…love and hugs….Laurie

  8. joel steinberg Says:

    We hope you can get out soon. You probably don”t need an endoscopy. Joel

  9. Bill Schaffner Says:

    Hi Bruce:

    I’ve been off on vacation for a few weeks (very unusual for Lois and me – I usually do brief spurts) and, once back, have been shoveling through the piles on my desk.

    Never fear, we have been following your latest adventures with empathy and continuing optimism. And just when we thought you had navigated the treacherous hospital waters relatively safely, along came the nosocomial nasties. Drat (expletives deleted)! Being awakened for any reason at 3 AM is no fun (although as interns we carried it off with élan), but to be awakened vomiting blood must be hair-raising. It sounds as though your team responded STAT, doing things exactly right. I certainly want them to keep an eye on you in the hospital for another couple of days – despite your growing “hospitalitis” titer.

    We’re focused on the long view – that the marrow transplant will afford you years and years of good health and that this purgatory will fade into the background, repressed and replaced with vividly wonderful experiences with Lisa and the children.

    Courage!

    Bill

  10. Leslie and Don Singman and Family Says:

    Hi Bruce,
    It is upsetting to hear about your increase in side effects, but you always seem to just shrug it off in your “reporting” of the facts as it happens. Sending you a long distance hug and wishing you did not have to go through all this to come out healthy on the other end! Hope you are well enough to come home soon.

    I got to say my own personal Mishaberach prayer for you with the Cantor at the synagogue on Saturday morning. “from my mouth to G-d’s ears” is the expression we Jews say…

    Leslie and family

  11. Lynn Oliver Says:

    Merde.

    Only you would rate a day like this a 7. Maybe in Kelvin?

    Sending optimism for you to put in your bank and drawn on should you ever need it. Tens are still to come!

    And sending love!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

