7-26-10 Monday

Status: 8.0/10. Feeling better after a decent night’s sleep. They’re keeping me around for an endoscopy tomorrow. If all goes well, I’m pushing to leave afterwards.

Events: My youngest brother Henry came up to help out, good having him here. Still with zero white cells, anorexia, and loss of taste. Living on Italian ices. Perhaps I’ll transition to dill pickles when I’m home.

Comments: 2 1/2 weeks in the hospital is taking a psychological toll – boredom, routines, effects of too many meds. Really think it’s time to go.

Love,

 -Bruce

7 Responses to “”

  1. wendy Says:

    It’s not jail…. you can leave with or without their permission… I don’t suggest AMA as the way to go out…but just know you have a “get of jail free card”

    do get that social worker in to work with you…

    This is a temporary situation… hard to believe, but it is…you have just a little ways to go to get home…

  2. Hildy Says:

    Hi Bruce and Lisa, I’m just reading your blog to catch up, we’ve been out of town traveling Australia for a month. I can’t believe what all has happened Bruce, you are an incredibly strong person and lucky to have your loving family (particularly Lisa) right there with you But you obviously know that. We’re thinking about you and sending our best wishes and love. Get better and home soon!! Much love, Hildy

  3. Ashby Says:

    If you don’t get out today, we have a special commando unit of the Adventure Guides ready to go. All you need to do is tie together a bunch of bed sheets, break the window (or open it if that’s easier) and then climb down when you hear the fog horn blow two short, two long and then two short. We’ll have a horse waiting for you.

  4. Penelope Douglas Says:

    HI Bruce,
    Reading your blog reminds me a little bit of reading the book “Angela’s Ashes”. I don’t know if you’ve read it but if you just read it…its a horribly depressing story…babies die, families starve, there’s hopelessness and misery throughout. But that’s not how I “read” it. I got the audio version…so while I was hearing Frank McCourt talk of his family’s early travails…I was hearing his lilting voice that always sounded like it was on the verge of cracking a joke. And that took the sting out of the words. I was able to enjoy the book…found it fascinating in fact… because he was telling me the story directly.
    I am so sorry that you have to go through all this…but as long as you’re there to tell the story…I’m encouraged for you. I can sense in your words the strength that you’re using to sustain yourself and the rest of us who are following along through your blog.

    Hang in there Bruce! The entire ITV gang wishes you well!

  5. Laurie Samuels Says:

    “Feeling better…..” are key words in your message today. I know this has been a long hard stretch, but the fact that you are “feeling better… after a good night’s rest” is encouraging. Hope you’ll hear the back door slam behind you soon! Home is where the heart is… for sure. Love, Laurie

  6. Peggie Neill Says:

    Bruce –
    If you’re getting cranky, this is a very good sign you are getting better. You are that much closer to getting where you want to go – home. From Nova Scotia to Rhode Island, Wally and I are pulling for you, Bruce.
    Love you,
    Peggie

  7. Judi Golding-Baker Says:

    Dear B
    Cranky is good! Hang in there…hoping you’re on your way home by this time tomorrow. Love and hugs to you and to dear Lisa

    J

Leave a Reply

