July 29, 2010  Thursday

Status: 8.0/10   Very weak.  Spent most of the day in bed sleeping and taking naps and making up for three weeks of sleep deprivation.   

Events:  My brother Henry has been here the last few days and a great help as always.  He even got a quick lesson from Lisa and was able to do my mid-day dose of IV antibiotics.  I will have to keep taking that three times a day for another week.   Back to Hopkins tomorrow for a lab check.

Comments:  I don’t think I was this weak after the last hospitalization, but with exercise and protein I am sure I will gain my strength back.   Looking forward to feeling as well as I did before I went into the hospital. 

Love,

-Bruce

7 Responses to “”

  1. Lewis Lefkowitz Says:

    At least at home. Those high doses leave deep tracks. Have a 9.0 day.

  2. Laurie Samuels Says:

    No place like your own bed!!! Rest up friend. 🙂

  3. wendy Says:

    geeper kreepers (sp?) anyone with all that you have been through would be MUSH… BUT it’s all uphill from here,,,, one day at a time.. just one day, one hour, one minute, one second at a time… keep your eye on the goal…

  4. Mitzi Krockover Says:

    Just wanted to let you know the Sokolovs are thinking of you and your family. Your updates touch our hearts with your courage and insight. Hope the next days provide some rest and respite.

  5. Ann Bradley Says:

    Hi, Bruce. I just played about a month’s worth of catch-up with blog reading–not that I have not tried but access sometimes is not easy. I went to the Research Society on Alcoholism annual meeting at end of june and was no sooner home than managed to get my body into a predicament that resulted in broken forearm and hip replacement. I am mending well but telecommuting until the end of August, so will again be a daily reader.

    Not that the two illnesses are comparable, I find that I need your example to face my own incapacitation and life in general. Have you any idea how you are strengthening the rest of us? A wonderful gift from one who already gives so much.

    Ann

  6. Gail Lehmann Says:

    So glad to hear you are home. That is always the best place to be to recoup your physical and emotional energy. Your saga is both traumatic and inspirational. We know you will keep fighting and we are in your corner!
    Lots of Love,
    Gail & Mark

  7. ray dan Says:

    Bruce, my family reads your blogs daily, hoping, as you do, to read and have you write only positive news. Hope that happens soon. In the meantime, we are reading and wishing for hopeful, positive news…….daily! Love, RAY

Leave a Reply

