Status:  8.0/10.  As many of you have surmised, there’s a small grade inflation here for the benefit of Hope Dan. Started off the morning driving to Hopkins with some nausea and vomiting.  Had another episode while waiting for platelets.  Don’t know why I was so queasy today.

Events: White cells still zero, so I wear an N95 mask outside the house.  Platelets at the low end, so I got another bag full.  Have to coordinate all that with the 3 times a day IV home infusion of antibiotics.  And in fact, I see the oncology infectious disease team tomorrow, and they’ll probably switch the antibiotic to oral Cipro and continue my oral antifungal.

  Comments: My brother Terry is in town this week to help out.  Always glad to have his helping hand, and he tells the best stories.  Norman Cousins was right, laughter is the best medicine.  Good friend Bruce Gellin kept me company last night while Lisa and the kids saw Mary Poppins at the Kennedy Center – they loved it.  And I just have to keep reminding myself that I was in the hospital at this junction last time around with zero white counts, and they didn’t let me go until they bounced back.  Hope in another 2-3 weeks I’ll be back to where I was then.

Love,

-B

11 Responses to “”

  1. Judy and Larry Says:

    Bruce,
    Thank you so much for continuing to keep us all updated on your journey. We hope you enjoy Terry’s visit. He does tell great stories….he came over yesterday and told us a few. We hope that things continue to progress as you want them to without too much discomfort. We are so very sorry for what you are going through. Please know that we continue to keep you (and your family) in our thoughts and prayers.
    Stay strong.
    Love, Judy and Larry

  2. Judi Golding-Baker Says:

    Dear Bruce
    I’m sending you lots of positive thoughts and hoping right along with you that the white count marches upward like the good soldiers that they are…and you feel “supercallifragilisticexpialidocious” (I’m sure Rachel and Ethan will know if I spelled this right!) I think this is the longest word in the English language — courtesy of Mary Poppins.

    Love you
    Judi

  3. Judi Golding-Baker Says:

    Hi B
    Not sure why my comments spaced out that way…gremlins in my computer…
    Hang tough my dear counsin
    Love you
    Judi

  4. Judi Golding-Baker Says:

    Hi B
    Not sure why my comments spaced out that way…gremlins in my computer…
    Hang tough my dear cousin
    Love you
    Judi

  5. wendy Says:

    here’s the good news…one more day countdown and that means you are closer to your goal… keep your eye on the goal… or was that ball…
    Terry does tell the best stories and laughs harder at his own jokes than anyone…laughter is a healing energy , I wish you a week of laughter…

  6. wendy Says:

    and so some one is not reading your blog?

  7. Hopie Says:

    so, what is it really?

  8. Hope Dan Says:

    So what is it, Really?

  9. Claire Broome Says:

    Hey Bruce (I still speak southern, even though they don’t get it in Berkeley…),
    Art and I regaled a table of folks near Geneva with several Bruce stories–could you feel the love and laughter?

    I appreciate the blog-for keeping informed–but even more for communicating some sense of the ongoing realities you and Lisa are dealing with–sending thoughts and prayers your way.

    love and hugs,
    Claire

  10. Ashby Says:

    I’m with Hope and for hope and I hope that the “inflation” is not anything but a statiscally insignificant anomaly. But then I am also hopeful that Haynesworth will pass his conditioning test. My hope is you will be on the road to recovery quickly and will beat Fat Albert in this physical contest. Here’s hoping!

  11. joel steinberg Says:

    Your optimism is amazing. If it were I, things might get rated a 4.0. We hang on your every word; we wish you only the best. Joel and Margaret S.

Leave a Reply

