8-3-10 Tuesday

Status: 8.0/10.  Still feel the fatigue of having no white  cells and lack of taste buds.

Events:  Terry drove me up to visit the transplant infectious disease folks today.  They’ll put me on oral antibiotics when my 2-week course of IV antibiotics runs out tomorrow, and they’ll keep me on them until my white cells return to normal.  Each visit for blood work is an anticipation for signs of those precious neutrophils coming back.  Back to Hopkins tomorrow for labs and probable platelet transfusion.  Strange how the unusual starts to become common.

Comments:   Do recognize that I’m a little stronger than when I came home a week ago – slow but being home is such a strengthener.  Especially when Ethan comes into the bedroom and says, “Can I stay with you for a while?”  It makes all the discomfort bearable.

Love to you and all of yours,

-Bruce

5 Responses to “”

  1. Andrea Tuttle Says:

    I believe hugs and human touch help strengthen the immune system. Ethan is a natural healer.

  2. wendy Says:

    Ethan’s energy and enthusiasm and bright eyes and bushy tail,,, would delight anyone… especially his dad… keep on keepin’ on …it’s happening.. progress isn’t measured in amount- but simply the difference from day to day.. and you are makin’ progress… YAHOOO

  3. Judi Golding-Baker Says:

    My Dear Bruce

    That is so touching…”seeing” Ethan by your side — you express so beautifully what is important in life…thank you my dear cousin

    I love you
    Judi

  4. clarissa K. Wittenberg Says:

    Dear Bruce,
    I am so impressed by what you are sharing. And your strength. Having had 2 cancers and currently doing well, I remember how little I could do. I read Christopher Hitchens’ Vanity Fair story about his cancer and wonder if you had seen it. http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/2010/09/hitchens-201009

    I am working to create a peer support program for the residents of the Gulf Coast using some of the information we all worked to create for the NIMH Real Men Real Depression campaign and some of the men you helped media train are working on it with me. Good flows from good. Bless you
    All my good wishes.
    Clarissa.

  5. Bill Israel and Eileen Breslin Says:

    Oh, Bruce – what a sweet note, your picture of Ethan coming to you in the bath. You so help us see the precious in the day to day — and how much we need that! Always thinking of you, and grateful to hear you starting to feel some strength coming back.

    Bill and Eileen

Leave a Reply

