8-09-10  Monday

A few changes over the weekend, back at Hopkins.

Status: 7.0-8.0/10. Started feeling am little funny Sunday afternoon and the chilly.  Temp was 100.9.  Called the oncology resident on call, and they waved me in,

Events: Temp spiked to 104, hard shaking chills, nausea and vomiting, blood pressure sank, and it seemed as if the entire hospital was in the room.  Urine cultures, blood cultures from my PICC line and a peripheral vein, EKG, portable chest x-ray, fluids, IV antibiotics, oxygen, blood transfusion.  Much of what transpired later is a little hazy since it was 2 AM and they had given me morphine for chills and anti-nausea medicine, but they did take me down for a CT scan and kept me up with vital signs.
  They pulled my PICC line and cultured it, but replaced it with several peripheral IVs (and multiple attempts to find a vein). Found gram-negative rods in my bloodstream, which either came from my GI tract or a contaminated PICC line. Slept most of the day and was afebrile, even ate dinner.

Comments: With still virtually no white cells, seeding the bloodstream is not unexpected, although changing my IV antibiotic to an oral may have contributed,  I’m guessing a 48-72 hour stay, a switch back to IV antibiotics, and a reinsertion of my Hickman catheter.  For short term a better night’s sleep.  Hope you have one as well.

Love,

-Bruce    =

19 Responses to “”

  1. Ed Baker Says:

    We’re so sorry you’re not feeling well. We hope it passes….

  2. wendy Says:

    do not go fpr the short strokes… in the long run the IV antibiotics are the better bet..

  3. Art Ulene Says:

    You are my hero. I’m not kidding. My thoughts are with you. Art

  4. Marsha Says:

    Hi Bruce,

    Just wanted to send some good wishes your way. Glad to hear you’re on an upswing again. I’m sure you feel like you’re on a roller coaster, but I guess it’s the ride you need to take to get to where you wanna go. You’re always in our thoughts. Have a quiet, restful night – sweet dreams – we’ll see you soon!

    Marsha

  5. Reggie & Fred Says:

    Not a “fun” way to end the weekend, Bruce, but hoping today you are feeling much better and had a good night! We’re thinking of you everyday and so appreciate the blog! We love you very much, Reg & Fred

  6. Kathy Shands Says:

    Good grief. It’s hard to get a break. Hang in there, baby! Love you and wish you a brief hospitalization. Kathy

  7. Len and Lisa Says:

    So sorry to hear about the past few days. Hang in there and know we are keeping you in our thoughts. This will all seem like a bad dream to you soon. Until then, try to keep the good sense of humor about this nightmare. Len and Lisa

  8. Leslie and Don Singman and Family Says:

    After seeing you on Sunday at 3:00 in your house, not looking to bad, all this happens so suddenly. Sorry to hear about this haitus back to Baltimore, wishing you are home again very soon.
    Hugs,
    Leslie and family

  9. Tom Linden Says:

    I’m hoping this is just a bump in a very bumpy road. Your courage inspires me, Bruce.

  10. Gail Lehmann Says:

    If anyone can be a FIGHTER, it is YOU!
    Go Bruce!
    Gail & Mark

  11. wendy Says:

    Not so sure I like the idea of a “port directly into your system” . I know that it makes all the other things eaiser…but it makes it easier for the “bad bacteria” too. SOOOOO hoping you get past this soon.. and let’s get some food and rest in you and some strength for the best part of this journey and that’s the cure for the rest of your life….

  12. Debbie Blum Says:

    To echo Kathy’s sentiments, “Good grief.” I wonder if G-CSF would help in prodding those neutrophils along. I seem to remember that I received this at some point during induction and/or consolidation to get my counts up. My thoughts are with you. Hope that you are home again very soon.

    Debbie

  13. Catherine Says:

    I’ve been moving so not commenting but have been reading all your posts and holding you in my heart. I’m jut hoping that you get to a stable point FAST where you feel like yourself again.

    Lots of love,
    Catherine

  14. Warren Says:

    Not much fun Bruce. I trust that one of these days, this will all be a distant memory. Hang in there. You are constantly in our thoughts.

  15. Penelope Douglas Says:

    Geez Bruce…If I were still in the South I’d say: “You can’t win for losing!”
    But I’m not in the South anymore so I’ll say:”Keep fighting!” It may seem discouraging to be going up and down like this…but you have so many people along with you on this journey…and we’re all lifting you up…and praying for you…
    Hang in there Bruce!!!

  16. Mitzi Krockover Says:

    Bruce,
    You continue to amaze us with your strength and we know that strength is what is going to help you through this. We read your blog and and want you to know we are all thinking of you and your beautiful family.

    Mitzi and Jacque

  17. Peggie Neill Says:

    Bruce –
    Well, the thoughts that ran through my mind reading this last message were:
    1. God bless the oncology fellow who made you come in.
    2. God bless Lisa for getting you there.
    3. God bless you for listening to both of them.
    4. You’re on the other side of this thing, so put it behind you.
    5. Better days are coming.
    6. You sure have a lot of family and friends who love you, and that love is gonna carry you, and Lisa, through.

    Love,
    Peggie

  18. Ashby Says:

    Hang in there, buddy.

  19. Judie Davidson Says:

    Rick and I are at Amelia Istland…just had dinner with Alan Cohen and his wife, Terry. We are all thinking about you and wishing the best. Do you remember when Sid called you “Moose” b/c he couldn’t pronounce the name, “Bruce”? Sid is now 23 yr. old. Here’s hoping you get over this cattle crossing sooner than later. Random thoughts due to two glasses of pinot gris.

Leave a Reply

