10-4-10 Monday

Status: 9.25/10.  Feeling very well.  I had lost a great deal of weight, virtually all my fat, but muscle mass as well.  Walking and bike riding have helped my lower extremities, but refraining from lifting and carrying has led to some upper body muscle wasting.  So much so that I started experiencing some left shoulder impingement (pain in the left shoulder joint from loss of muscle that keeps the arm and shoulder aligned).  I’ve been doing some self-prescribed stretching and strenghtening exercises to great effect (similar to the ones I had done a few years ago for my torn right rotator cuff).  I plan on taking a few 1 lb weights to the hospital.

Events:  Over the weekend, the family had an at home movie night, and I indulged in some candy (Sour Patch Kids), and it was just gummy enough to pull a crown off a tooth.  Luckily, our wonderful friend and great dentist Keith Progebin fit me in his schedule today, repaired the damage, replaced the crown and pronounced me “good to go.”  The reason I mention this tiny detail is that Keith is a great doctor and smart enough to think about the possibility of underlying decay as well as any other oral problems that might complicate my transplant.  So he ordered an x-ray.  The technician came in and laid a lead apron over me.  I almost laughed out loud.  I’ve had so many chest x-rays, sinus films, CT scans, and fluoroscopies that adding up my total radiation dose this year would make a dental x-ray a rounding error.

 And the best news for last.  We received confirmation today that our donor is good to go as well, and I’m scheduled to enter the hospital Oct 13 to begin the transplant procedure.  

Comments:  I’ll fill you in on what we have learned about a bone marrow transplant over the next few days.

Love,

-Bruce

17 Responses to “”

  1. Art Ulene Says:

    Bruce….. Your post made my day. Onward and upward. Art

  2. Lewis Lefkowitz Says:

    Starting the countdown with you. We are so pleased that things are in order and set to go.

    Judy and Lewis

  3. Sheryl Stolberg Says:

    Great news! I’m convinced there was a reason those other donors backed out. This one is the right one for you. We are pulling for you, Bruce.
    Love,
    Sheryl

  4. Wendi Says:

    Excellent news! We’re sending love and good energy your way.

  5. Bill Israel and Eileen Breslin Says:

    Hallelujah, Bruce! Great news, that the match can go ahead, and in only about a week. We’re rooting for you, as always. Eileen was particularly glad to be able to stop in last weekend. Hope I’ll get that chance soon, too.

    Love,

    Bill and Eileen

  6. wendy Says:

    Houston we’re a go ahead. Yahoo. And gettting those teeth checked out was a gooooood thing. Glad to know you have a time frame…Those count down or count ups would be good from here on. Get the kids to do that for you.

  7. Judy and Larry Says:

    We are so happy for you that you will get the transplant and hopefully be cured for life. We have been and will continue to keep you and your family in our thoughts and prayers. We look forward to reading about what you have in front of you. We pray they are clear skies ahead.
    Love, Judy and Larry

  8. Charlie Dan Says:

    Mazel tov on the good news, and good luck!

  9. Freddy Says:

    Bruce, I did the same thing a few years ago and the cost of a new crown and being fussed at by my dentist made it not worthwhile to ever eat those wonderful carmelly candies again! So very glad you are a go, Mr. Energizer Bunny. Keep your chin way upi Everyone here sends you their endearing love, especially me, your loving aunt and godmother.And may G-d bless your donor. You will be in our prayers 24/7.

  10. Johnny Says:

    We read with delight this wonderful news. Sending sweet thoughts across the pond with love and more love. Your courage, and tenacity (or is that good ole stubbornness) is a joy to behold xxx

  11. Leslie Singman and Family Says:

    Great news about the donor! I know it seems like a long road ahead but there are many of us keeping you company on the way 🙂

  12. Esperanza Says:

    May I echo & join all the wonderful wishes your family and friends are saying to you. You are a parent, you know!

  13. Roxanne K. Young Says:

    Bruce

    We’re all rooting for you here!

    Fondly,

    Roxanne

  14. joel steinberg Says:

    First the Giants make the playoffs, then Bruce gets scheduled for his transplant. What an excellent week! We are pulling for you. Joel and Margaret S.

  15. Peggie Neill Says:

    Bruce –
    I shouted “YESSSSS!” when I read this post. Yes, yes, yes. There is a reason that the answer lay with Donor no. 4, and that is that it is meant to be. You are gonna make it, teaching us all along the way, and reforming medical care as a side job. Savor your sips from the cup of love and friendship which all of us will continue to keep full.
    Go forward on faith- we are behind you.
    Love,
    Peggie

  16. Catherine Says:

    YAY to October 13th!! What does “begin” mean? How long a procedure?

  17. bob price Says:

    Bruce, I add my good wishes & happiness to all those who have already sent theirs on to you……& prayers of thanks and blessings to your anonymous donor as well.
    Our thoughts are with you and your beautiful family. bob

Leave a Reply

