10-31-10 Sunday  Day +4

 

Happy Halloween.  No one has knocked on my door as yet.  If they do, I can give them some high nutrition milk shake packets.

 Status:  9.0/10.  I upped my status a bit since I’m feeling pretty good, although my white counts are now dropping rapidly.  Lisa came up this morning but with sniffles and a sore throat.  She put on a mask, but the nurse said she really should go home.  The nurse said of me, “He really has no immune system now.”  I’m going to have to be real careful these next 3-4 weeks.

Events:  As I had no need at the moment for chemotherapy or IV fluids, they detached me from my IV.  I feel like a free man!  Still eating a liquid diet to keep my GI tract quiet.  Developed an itchy rash.  One of the staff asked if I had been given any new medications!  Wonder how they got into Hopkins.

Comments:   The next 3-4 weeks will be what it’s all about.  I’ll try to enjoy each good day.  Looking forward to election night.

Love,

-Bruce

6 Responses to “”

  1. Laurie Samuels Says:

    Sorry your best nurse is a little under the weather… but nice to hear your status is higher. Keep up the good work. Happy Halloween! :>) Laurie

  2. sheldan Says:

    As the old joke goes, “I’ve upped my status…up yours.” 🙂

  3. Dennis Powell Says:

    Election night … what a nail biter that will be !!

  4. Bill Schaffner Says:

    Bruce:

    Sounds good so far! I empathize with your sense of freedom, liberated from the IVs. When I had them they evoked my not very latent claustrophobia.
    Am looking forward to election night – a fundamental evocation of the society envisioned by our nation’s Founding Fathers and my immigrant father. That said, I anticipate that I will be very depressed by the results.

    Cheer,

    Bill

  5. Henry Miller Says:

    Enjoy the landslide on Tuesday!

  6. joel steinberg Says:

    We keep our fingers crossed for you. In regards to the election: “You can fool all of the people some of the time, and some of the people all of the time. And that is sufficient.” Joel and Margaret S.

Leave a Reply

