11-7-10 Sunday Day +11

Status: 8.0/10. Feeling well other than the mucositis. Swallowing is next to impossible, even liquids. They’ve put me on patient-controlled analgesia (PCA). It’s an IV with a pump that let’s me control, with a push of a button, the amount of pain-killing medicine I receive (in my case it’s morphine). Unfortunately, the amount I need to make swallowing possible puts me to sleep, and with groggy after effects.
Events:. Received both platelets and red cells last night.
Laurie Singer came up to re-supply camp Dan(mail, newspapers, mags, clean clothes), and it’s simply not Sunday without a leisurely read of the NY Times. Dr. Christian Meyer, friend and new faculty member in solid tumor oncology stopped for a visit.
Lab results of my blood cultures showed Klebsiella pneumoniae. It’s part of a normal GI flora (one of the many usual bugs populating the gastro-intestinal tract). Like E. coli it’s harmless in it’s own environment, but a nuisance in the bloodstream or urinary tract. It was already sensitive to my previous antibiotics, and they’ll discontinue the high-power Amikacin.
Plans for tomorrow include removing the two peripheral IVs and reinserting my Hickman catheter. It’s easier to give drugs more quickly and thick fluids like blood smoothly with a large bore catheter.
Comments:. It’s been a long day and quite tiring. I’m looking forward to some sleep and start fresh in the morning. Wish you a good start to the week.

-Love,
Bruce

8 Responses to “”

  1. Reggie & Fred Says:

    Wishing you a great start to the new week, Bruce…with a proliferation of red, white, platelets and any other kind of cells you need!!

    We love you! Reg & Fred

  2. Art Ulene Says:

    Bruce…. I am feeling so damn helpless out here…. and just a little guilty that you and Lisa are having to all the work, and I’m just reading. I just want you to know that we are with you in spirit, and if there was any way I could take some of that pain for you, I’d do it. You are an inspiration to all of us….ART

  3. Peggie Neill Says:

    Bruce –
    You are much on my mind altho I have not had time to keep up. Have been on the medical service, and with you in mind, it’s been a “walk-about”. Saw Bruce Gellin at IDSA, and we talked about you (ears burning!) to say how much we are pulling for you.

    I just wish there was a practical way to lift yours and Lisa’s load but at a distance, it’s not readily doable. Your insights are right on, and I appreciate what you write (and don’t write). Have enjoined a looooooong prayer chain for you with family and friends –
    our mouths to God’s ear 🙂

    Love to you and yours,
    Peggie

  4. joel steinberg Says:

    As per my previous comment–hang in there, Bruce. Your fans and supporters expect it of you. Joel and Margaret S.

  5. courtney =) Says:

    Hi Bruce –

    Catching up on your blog over the last week. You’ve been through a lot…and still manage to sound upbeat! That’s quite a feat!!! I hope that mucositis leaves very soon so you can swallow again!

    Funny – Henry enjoys the NYTimes on Sunday mornings too, and he always ends with the crossword. (I read it too…and it was my favorite Sunday morning ritual with him.) You really are brothers!

    Looking forward to our visit in a couple of weeks!

    Keeping you in my thoughts….and still cheering for Team Bruce!
    courtney =)

  6. wendy Says:

    Just remember how good you felt before this last round. The goal is just around the corner…feeling great and cured. Hang in – the journey will be a memory before you know it. And a great story to tell.

  7. Andrea Tuttle Says:

    It sounds like you’ve begun to make a good turn around. And you have 11 days behind you. Foodie that I am, I can’t help but read Keilbasa instead of Klebsiella. Are they considering TPN again or are you get enough nutrition down ? Too bad no tastebuds in the circulatory system. I have a great feeling that there will be only minor adjustments from here on out. Good thoughts to you.

  8. Shelley Fleet Says:

    Keep up your positive attitude Bruce! You are an inspiration.
    I hope Lisa is better soon and can spend time with you.

Leave a Reply

