2-27-11 Sunday  + 4 months

Seems like it’s easier now to think in terms of months rather than days, and today is exactly 4 months since my transplant.

Status:  I do have more energy, which allows me more activity, which in turn feeds more energy.  A good cycle, although I do get a little worn out by the end of the day. Been doing a little cooking myself.

Events: At Hopkins last Friday, counts still look stable.  Primary reason for visiting was to the see GVH group.  Pretty much confirmed I have some chronic graft vs. host disease.  Seems to be mostly limited from the neck up (dry skin, dry mouth, dry eyes).  On the positive side the head GVHer said, “Chronic GVH is the best therapy against leukemia!”  And we’d just watch it for now.  In response to my comment that it made me feel crummy, he said, “If people didn’t get better, we wouldn’t be doing it.”

  Liver enzymes are still up, which may be from the anti-fungal meds I’m taking or from GVH.  If they settle down that would be good, if not I was told, “A liver biopsy may be in your future.”   I consider the word “future” a good word.

Comments:  Next visit is next Friday, and then later a visit to the famous Wilmer Eye Institute at Hopkins to take a look at my dry eyes.  The lyrics from the Jackson Browne song suddenly sprang to mine, “Doctor my eyes, tell me what you see.”

A tip to Tom Linden for referring to cosmologist Brian Greene.  Dr. Greene is string theorist.  These are guys who believe matter isn’t made up of tiny little balls like protons, neutrons, and electrons, but tiny vibrating strings.  Some like wiggling strands of spaghetti, some like wiggly bracelets.  Of course, we’ll never be able to prove that theory, and it has some other difficulties like requiring 10 or 11 dimensions not the 3 or 4 we’re used toBritish scientist J.B.S. Haldane once said, “The Universe in not only queerer than we imagine, is queerer than we can imagine.”  We live in a strange and sometimes treacherous place, but it’s the only home we have.  And as the great philosopher Dorothy Gale said, “There’s no place like home.”

Love,

-Bruce

11 Responses to “”

  1. Art Ulene Says:

    You still make me smile. I am so pleased to see/feel your growing strength. I send my love and best wishes… ART

  2. Laurie Samuels Says:

    I agree with Art, I too can feel more positive energy from your words…. a good feeling.

    So much to be grateful for…life, health, home, family, friends….you help remind all of us, just how precious all those things are. Thanks. 🙂

    Love to all and continuing good wishes for more good days! Laurie

  3. Esperanza Says:

    You have such good friends! Love seeing your blog again, missed it and you!

  4. Judie Davidson Says:

    Glad to see you are continuing to feel better. Hugs to all the family.

  5. bob price Says:

    Bruce, all I can say is ditto to what’s already been written this morning. So good to read of your continuing recovery; we continue to pray for you, & to be amazed by you. What a wonderful Spring just ahead for you, Lisa & children. ! bob & karen

  6. joel steinberg Says:

    Dry mouth and dry eyes are not trivial; but they aren’t life-threatening either. Annoying both. String theory, like much of physics, is simply one way we humans try to mathematically model how we think the universe works. But like much of it (The Big Bang, Quantum Mechanics, Relativity, Gravity, etc.) our meager earthbound brains are incapable of actually conceptualizing it. [Or maybe a few of us really can–some of the extreme nerds (“Intuitively obvious to the most casual observer with the meanest intelligence!”) come to mind.] Hang tough, Bruce. Joel and Margaret S.

  7. Gail Lehmann Says:

    Bruce,
    I love your analysis and thoughtful insights into your health and the universe.
    We are all taking this incredible journey with you through the maze and wish you good health again!
    Love,
    Gail

  8. Margot Says:

    So happy to read that your progess continues to be be good. Keep it up. 4 months now seems to me like a long time but to you I am certain it seems very different. You help to keep us grounded and grateful. Keep moving forward with every precious day.
    Love to all.

  9. mike magee Says:

    Bruce-

    “…queerer than we could imagine”? So it’s not just me who’s been confused all these years!

    Mike

  10. Tom Linden Says:

    Thanks, Bruce, for reminding me that Brian Greene is (was?) a string theorist. Every time I’ve read or heard about string theory I leave more confused than when I started… all of which tells me that maybe nobody really understands string theory. And that, in turn, leads me to think that there’s less to string theory than meets the eye. I recall an intriguing New Yorker profile a couple years ago about a surfing cosmologist who maintained that string theory was an elegant invention and that belief in the theory was a requirement to get into the higher echelons of the academic cosmology club. Anyway, I have enough trouble getting my mind around an ever-expanding universe.

  11. Donna Hill Howes Says:

    Hi Bruce. Like the others, I am so encourgaged by your continued progress. And this Eye Nurse highly recommends the great team at Wilmer (remember I did my Master’s research there)! Please say hi to Walter for me and I hope to be in the D.C. area in another month….are you taking visitors yet? Sending you and the whole family love,
    Donna

Leave a Reply

