3-16-11 Wednesday  + 4 ½  months

Too many consecutive days at Hopkins.

Status:  Got through my bronchoscopy without puncturing a lung, bleeding, or dying – the 3 major warnings I got to hear 3 times before signing the informed consent form.  Did come home with a whopping sore throat, the one thing they guaranteed would occur.

  Events: First saw the pulmonary fellow, and after going over the CT scan with her, I asked, “What do you think it could be?”  She replies, “With you, it could be anything.”

  I can tell you about the before and after, but I don’t remember anything about the procedure – I was given propofol.  The words that came to mind were the first lines of T.S. Eliot’s The Lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock.   

Let us go then, you and I,  
When the evening is spread out against the sky  
Like a patient etherised upon a table;  

  The pulmonary folks said they didn’t find anything specific, but performed a bronchial-alveolar lavage (squirt water down and suck it back up) and took some biopsy snips.  We await the results.

Comments:  I kept going back to Eliot:

I grow old … I grow old …        
I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled.  

Love,

-Bruce

9 Responses to “”

  1. Blaine Says:

    Hey Bruce,
    Good thoughts and prayers are with you. Hope the procedures are over soon.
    Blaine

  2. Mitzi Krockover Says:

    Bruce,
    Hang in there. Sounds like you are going through a rough patch; hope things smooth out soon. The fact you can channel T.S. Eliot is, as always, impressive.

    Love,
    Mitzi

  3. Reggie & Fred Says:

    Thought about you all day with lots of love. You are truly amazing!

    Reg & Fred

  4. wendy Says:

    Another family story- I was advised over the years by a number of doctors that I wasn’t typical re: symptoms, reactions to medications, etc. So everytime I go to a new doctors I clarify it this way-“Doctors told me to be sure and tell other doctors- “When you think about treating me or a diagnosis or reactions to medications remember you have to think outside of the box, re: the standard deviation, I’m often in the 1%. -So dear brother Bruce perhaps you should tell your doctors this as well, think outside the box. We ceratinly know that you are the “unique one” in so many other areas.

  5. Joe Robertson Says:

    Ah, but Bruce, I am sure that after all you have been through you certainly dare to eat a peach. . .

    Keep your chin up and keep on fightin’. You’ve got a whole crowd of folks in your corner cheering you on. We’re all yelling GO BRUCE!!!

    All our best,

    Joe, Catherine, Claire and Antoine

  6. Warren Says:

    I hope whatever orifices have not been examined can remain unexamined. I am thinking good thought for you.
    Warren

  7. darya Says:

    Dear Bruce,
    You have been through so much….. Hang in there. We send you all of our good wishes and prayers and love

  8. joel steinberg Says:

    It is not good to be an unusual case of anything. But at least they didn’t find some obvious whopping fungus. Perhaps the X-ray shadows on your lungs represent some residual changes from before (scarring?) and everyone is chasing their tails. Are you even symptomatic from the pulmonary standpoint? Just a thought from a humble country doctor (retired). Joel S.

  9. Maija Rothenberg Says:

    Hi Bruce,

    A fellow member of AMWA here, just dropping in to offer my heartiest get-well-soon wishes. I’m glad your treatment is going well. As my husband often advises, Break a leg — theirs, if necessary. Cheers, Maija

Leave a Reply

